Haaland vote FWA footballer of the year

0 38

Erling Haaland has been voted the Football Writers’ Association’s Footballer of the Year, with Chelsea striker Sam Kerr receiving the women’s award.

Manchester City striker Erling Haaland has enjoyed a superb first season with City, scoring 51 goals in all competitions to help Pep Guardiola’s side top the Premier League and reach the FA Cup final as well as the semi-finals of the Champions League.

The Norway international received 82 per cent of the FWA vote, ahead of Arsenal duo Bukayo Saka and Martin Odegaard.

Australia striker Kerr, 29, has won the women’s Footballer of the Year award for the second successive season, with Aston Villa’s Rachel Daly and Chelsea team-mate Lauren James completing the top three.

Kerr has scored 26 goals in 34 club appearances this season as Chelsea, currently second in the Women’s Super League table, reached the FA Cup final and also the semi-finals of the Champions League.

Haaland and Kerr are set to receive their awards at the FWA Footballer of the Year 75th anniversary dinner in London on May 25.


Follow us on all social media platform, @Sportscliffs on Twitter and Instagram and also like our facebook page




Leave a comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Pin It on Pinterest